My Experience with an FF admin. Constructive criticism.

Umbreon

My Experience with an FF admin. Constructive criticism.

Post by Umbreon »

Please keep in mind I can't remember everything to a T but I will do my best. I'm not here to "troll your servers" or anything like that. I also do not know if I posted this on the right section, apologies in advance; as well as any grammar errors, as it's late.
After giving TF2 a break for so long, I decided to hop on one of my favorite servers, the FF minecraft server. I have played on this server ever since it's beginning, still owned by Darren, branded FG and unpopular. Please keep in mind that I have been an administrator on many servers, and not just on TF2, I know what it's like and how hard it can be. My experience involved pointing out, rule number 4 on the MOTD page. Which roughly states, "Admin powers are only to be used to enforce the rules." The admin in question, FlutterTree, was using his admin screen-chat to talk about things such as casual prices. I made the admin aware of this, and was replied with this answer (in admin chat) "I think I'll just talk like this for the rest of the time." I was also told that "The top admin allows/does it too." Now, is this a problem here? "Fire allows it", I was told. Then I wondered, why did Fire (yes, fire, I know you are a very busy and successful person, don't get me wrong on that point), why were we allowing Admins to break their own rules? Is there something I'm missing? Maybe the rule of "Admins are not above the rules under any circumstances" also might be a problem here. Flutter will provide you with his own story, from his own point of view, about how "I was bitching/being a dumbass". Of this I have no doubt; as he is an admin you will be inclined to view his point as more reputable than my own.

My point is, something needs to change here.

Thank you,
Umbreon.
Last edited by Umbreon on Sat Feb 16, 2013 6:34 am, edited 2 times in total.
Tony :3